Acharya Sri Vardhamansagarji Maharaj Mangala Pravesha, Shravanabelagola

Shravanabelagola (Hassan District, Karnataka), June 4, 2017: Jain monk Acharya 108 Sri Vardhamansagarji Maharaj and his sangh (a group of 43 other Jain monks & nuns) were given a rousing welcome on Sunday at Shravanabelagola. Sri Vardhamansagarji along with his group of disciples has travelled for over 1500 Kms all the way from Siddavarakut near Indore in Madhya Pradesh. Thousands of devotees from all over India had gather at Shravanabelagola to welcome the monk.

Grand Procession – Sri Vardhamansagarji Maharaj along with his Sangh was given a warm welcome at a specially built ‘Mahadwara’ (main gate) near the Shravanabelagola railway station. They were given a Purna Kumbha Swagatha (a welcome accompanied by Kalashas, with holy water and coconut) with Pushpavrushti (anointing with flowers) followed by a grand procession. They were taken to the exclusively built stage at Gommata Nagar (in the premises of Sri Bahubali College of Engineering) in the procession. The procession comprised of 108 women carrying 108 Kalashas (pot with holy water), 108 people carrying 108 Jain flags, 24 symbols of the 24 Tirthankaras, 3 silver pallakki (palanquin), Managala Vadya (Nadaswara & Saxophone), Mysuru Band set, Ranebennur Brass Band and other cultural troupes.

Vardhamansagarji to Grace Mahamasthakabhisheka – Acharya Sri Vardhamansagarji Maharaj will grace the Mahamasthakabhisheka of 57 feet monolithic statue of Lord Bahubali to be held in February 2018. The event will be held under his guidance and in the leadership of His Holiness Swasti Sri Charukeerthi Bhattarakha Swamiji the pontiff of Shravanabelagola Jain Math. It can be recalled here that Acharya Sri had graced the Mahamastakabhisheka Mahotsavas held in 2006 and 1993.

His Holiness Swasti Sri Charukeerthi Bhattarakha Swamiji the pontiff of Shravanabelagola Jain Mutt, Sri A.Manju the district in charge minister and president of the State Government’s Mahamasthakabhisheka – 2018 Committee; Smt Sarita Mahendrakumar Jain, national president of Gommteshwara Bhagawan Sri Bahubali Swami mahamasthakabhisheka mahotsava committee – 2018 (GBMMC-2018), Sri S.Jitendra Kumar, executive president of GBMMC-2018 and others were present at the function. – Nitin H P & Jain Heritage Centres News Service