Shravanabelagola, September 1, 2005: ‘Sri Shanthisagar Shanthi Sadbavana Chariot (Ratha)’ will enter Shravanabvelagola on the 4th of September, 2005. This chariot has been traveling all its way from Stavanidhi to Shravanabelagola and the Rathayatra has been organised by Veera Sevadal a unit of the Dakshina Bharath Jain Sabha. On its way to Shravanabelagola it has traveled through the Belgaum, Dharwad, Shimoga, Mandya, Mysore and Hassan districts. The Ratha yatra will be concluded at Shravanabelagola at a special function organised to commemorate the 50th death anniversary of Acharya Sri Shanthisagarji Maharaj. The entire function will be held under the guidance of His Holiness Swasti Sri Charukeerthi Bhattarakha Swamiji.
Sri Abhayachandra Jain the chief whip government of Karnataka will inaugurate the Rathayatra at Shravanabelagola and Dr.M.R.Tanga the member of the legislative council will preside over the function. Sri Puttegowda the member of the legislative assembly from Shravanabelagola will offer flowers to the chariot.
At a function organised to welcome the chariot Sri .D.Veerendra Hegde the Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala will release Acharya Shanthisagarji’s photo and Sri Naresh Kumar Sethi will release the souvenir. Sri Kallappanna Avade, Sri Nirmal Kumar Sethi, Sri A.R.Nirmal Kumar, Sri D.A.Patil, Sri Naganathanna Nayakavadi, Sri D.C.Patil, Sri Suresh Patil and other dignitaries will participate in the function. – Jain Heritage Centres News Service (JHCNS)